MoMA PS1: New Amsterdam Presents Sound / Source


Sunday, October 19, 2014
12:00 PM to 10:00 PM


1:00 PM Alvin Lucier’s I am sitting in a room, performed by Olga Bell
2:00 PM Vicky Chow performs Tristan Perich’s Surface Image
3:00 PM panel discussion with composer Paul Lansky and Sound / Source artists
4:00 PM Selections from Paul Lansky’s Idle Chatter series, performed by members of Roomful of Teeth / Holly Herndon’s Idle Chatter response
5:00 PM Tyondai Braxton


All Day Moog Interactive Installation
6:00 PM Shadowbox
7:00 PM Huerco S.
8:30 PM Awesome Tapes from Africa


Nate Boyce and Daniel Lopatin (Oneohtrix Point Never)

Lesley Flanigan, Maria Chavez, and MV Carbon
Performances at 12:00pm and 4:45pm

Lucky Dragons

Daniel Wohl with Olga Bell and Caroline Shaw
Video by Lily Morris and Lily Fang
Performances at 2:30pm and 5:30pm

Sound / Source is a day-long exploration of electroacoustic music in all its forms, featuring collaborations between legends, luminaries, and newcomers as they examine the interplay between human and machine sounds. Using the elasticity of the human voice and the endless expanse of its interpretation through electronic processing as a guiding principle, Sound / Source takes at its center a rare live performance of pieces from Paul Lansky’s series of Idle Chatter compositions on the 30th anniversary of the series’ birth, including a new live vocal arrangement performed by members of Roomful of Teeth as well as an 8-channel surround sound arrangement performed by Lansky himself. The significant, continued resonance of these compositions will be explored in a panel with the composer and in a new interpretation by artist/composer Holly Herndon.

A special performance of Alvin Lucier’s classic piece I am sitting in a room, which was recently acquired by MoMA’s collection, will launch the day’s festivities by exploring the resonant frequencies of MoMA PS1’s geodesic dome. Additional performances, including sets by Tyondai Braxton and pianist Vicky Chow, will showcase new and vital pathways being forged in the electronic field. Chow will perform composer and visual artist Tristan Perich’s Surface Image on the occasion of the piece’s release on New Amsterdam Records.

Complementing the performances in the dome will be a collection of new, site-specific sound installations filling the MoMA PS1 building from top to bottom, created by some of today’s most talented and challenging electronic artists. Nate Boyce and Daniel Lopatin (Oneohtrix Point Never) will collaborate on an installation in MoMA PS1’s basement Boiler Room. Daniel Wohl will present a live, performative installation with Olga Bell and Caroline Shaw in MoMA PS1’s Richard Serra room on the museum roof. A special score of elevator music created by electronic duo Lucky Dragons will ferry viewers between the museum’s basement and rooftop spaces. Sound sculptors Lesley Flanigan, Maria Chavez, and MV Carbon will join forces to perform on the MoMA PS1 Terrace. In addition to these artist installations, MOOG will create an interactive installation of handcrafted electronic instruments.

An afterparty in the Print Shop will include sets by Shadowbox, Huerco S., and Awesome Tapes from Africa.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *